Bookmark and Share

Trip departures by: Date Trip Name

Western Trail

Green Tortoise Adventure Bus Overland tours - Pacific Coast

Western Trail Route Map - Green Tortoise

Click to enlarge [+]

Western Trail 2014 Departures:

Round Trip from San Francisco:

  • Mon, Jun 30 - Sun, Jul 6
  • Mon, Jul 21 - Sun, Jul 27
  • Mon, Aug 11 - Sun, Aug 17
  • Mon, Sep 15 - Sun, Sep 21

Western Trail 2015 Departures:

Round Trip from San Francisco:

  • Mon, May 25 - Sun, May 31
  • Mon, Jun 8 - Sun, Jun 14
  • Mon, Jun 29 - Sun, Jul 5
  • Mon, Jul 20 - Sun, Jul 26
  • Mon, Aug 10 - Sun, Aug 16
  • Mon, Aug 31 - Sun, Sep 6
  • Mon, Sep 14 - Sun, Sep 20

Frequent Crawler Program

Join the Frequent Crawler Club today!

Western Trail - 7 Days

Our flexible trip of the highlights of California -- plus Las Vegas and Zion! -- will fit even the busiest of schedules. From sandy California beaches to Zion's rocky red cliffs, this overland adventure includes all the best spots of the West Coast of America.

Following hostel pickups in San Francisco, the Green Tortoise crawls south down the legendary Pacific Coast Highway. Hit the beach in Santa Cruz while surfers challenge the waves in Steamer Lane, or check out the Surfing Museum housed in the Mark Abbott Memorial lighthouse.

In Monterey, stroll along John Steinbeck's beloved Cannery Row, spend time at Fisherman's Wharf, or pay a visit to the world-famous aquarium. Afterwards, we'll head for our campsite under the Coastal Redwoods of Big Sur.

Where the beautiful rolling hills of California meet the majestic pacific ocean, you will enjoy some time at San Simeon State Park. You can take an optional tour of opulent Hearst Castle, hike through the surrounding wetlands, or just relax on the beach. Other activities include kayaking (Discount for groups. Minimum of 4 people).

Spot cliffside mansions in Malibu before checking out some Los Angeles highlights. Recuperate from a night on the town with a visit to Joshua Tree National Park. Hike the Wonderland of Rocks Trail or go bouldering, keeping an eye out for the whimsical trees for which the park was named.

A night out in glittering Las Vegas is sure to please. Take a limousine tour of the strip, see the legendary comedy improv of Second City, or ride the roller coaster at New York, New York.

The following day, spend extra time in Vegas or head for Zion National Park. Hike to Angel's Landing for breathtaking views of Zion Canyon's sheer sandstone cliffs, then go for a swim or take an optional inner tube ride on the Virgin River.

Enjoy a few more hours with your new friends before we drop you off in Los Angeles* or ride with us to beautiful San Francisco. Please note: this is a combination trip, and it is possible to be dropped off and picked up at different points along this route. Please call our office for further details regarding this feature.

Bug Sur California Coast - Western Trail - Green Tortoise

I'm ready to make a reservation!

Please note this is a combination trip. Please call our office for details.

* Subject to availability, additional fees may apply.

Flexible Itinerary means that we may alter an itinerary depending on weather, local events, etc. Although we make every attempt to run our trips as advertised, please be aware that the itinerary may change to give you the best trip possible.

Have you been on this trip? Please tell us what you thought.

Top